Research Division Introduction – Dept. of Export Agriculture

Research Division Introduction

Research division of the DEA started at Wariyapolawatta, in Matale district with the commencement of the department in 1972. Today it has been developed into a strong research wing with six commodity/ discipline based Research stations, Economics Research Division and the Plant Protection unit. The division is occupied with thirty Research Officers, nineteen Research and Development Assistants, fourteen Research Assistants and other support staff and laborers.

Commodity and discipline based research is carried out at the Main Research Station, Matale and six sub stations namely Cinnamon Research station at Pallolpitiya in Matara district, Intercropping and Betel Research Station at Narammala in Kurunagala district, Tissue culture and Plant Propagation Centre at Walpita in Gampaha district, Kundasale, Nillambe and Mid Country Research Station in Kandy district.

Central Research Station, Elwala , Matale

T.P. +94 66 222 2822, +94 66 223 1249 | Fax +94 66 222 2822
Email :,

National Cinnamon Research & Training Center

T.P. +94 41-2245407, +94 41-5673931 | Fax +94 41 2245407
Email :

Intercropping & Betel Research Center

T.P. +94 37-2248879 | Fax +94 37-2249377
Email :

Economic Research Unit

T.P. +94 81-2388651 | Fax +94 81-2387282
Email :